As expected, Antoine Fuqua’s “The Equalizer”, starring Denzel Washington, won this past weekend’s box office. And to no one’s surprise, the total take was well over $20 million. If that sounds like some sort of achievement, that’s because it is. As one of the last of the name-recognition actors, Denzel Washington tends to bring “asses to the seats”. In fact, his films since 2009’s “Taking of Pelham 123” have opened with $20+ million:

  • The Equalizer (2014): $34,137,828
  • 2 Guns (2013): $27,059,130
  • Flight (2012): $24,900,566
  • Safe House (2012): $40,172,720
  • Unstoppable (2010): $22,688,457
  • The Book of Eli (2010): $32,789,494
  • The Taking of Pelham 123 (2009): $23,373,102

For all those keeping score, this is a good thing. As with any business enterprise, especially as it relates to movies, you must provide a “product” that reels in the masses. A “product” that has the ability to provide zero significant intrinsic value, but appears to. In other words, Denzel Washington’s movies are the iPhone of movies: slick, dependable, and not much change in the overall aesthetic year-to-year. But he is a consistent and reliable performer. And (black) women love him.

But how did the rest of the box office fare? Meh…

1. The Equalizer $34,137,828
2. The Maze Runner $17,437,020
3. The Boxtrolls $17,275,239
4. This is Where I Leave You $6,894,340
5. Dolphin Tale 2 $4,788,153
6. No Good Deed (2014) $4,509,127
7. A Walk Among the Tombstones $4,192,785
8. Guardians of the Galaxy $3,765,941
9. Let’s Be Cops $1,516,021
10. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (2014) $1,450,177

Box Office Report and Denzel Washington stats via Box Office Mojo